Housebuilder Awards 2022

Housebuilder Awards 2021


The Housebuilder Awards 2022

Barratt Developments was declared Large housebuilder of the year at The Housebuilder Awards 2022 last night as the industry came together to honour the best in the UK new homes sector.

Actor and comedian Sir Lenny Henry hosted the event at The InterContinental The O2 which was attended by almost 700 guests.

The Hill Group and St Modwen were crowned joint Medium housebuilders of the year, with Hill winning the new category of Best sustainability initiative for The Villas at Knights Park, Eddington. Small housebuilder of the year was Castle Green Homes.

Thakeham Homes scooped the Best staff development award – an expansion of the former training award – for its An unwavering commitment to staff development programme.

Now in their 18th year, the Housebuilder Awards celebrate excellence in all aspects of the sector, including in customer satisfaction, marketing, design, training, regeneration and sustainability. 

Congratulations to all of the Housebuilder Awards 2022 winners and highly commended.  

If you have any questions then please contact 

Housebuilder Awards 2022 - Finalists

Best customer satisfaction initiative

  • Castle Green Homes – Willow - your digital new home assistant (Winner)
  • Clixifix® – Customer care, simplified software
  • Persimmon Homes – The Persimmon Way (Commended)
  • Redrow – New customer experience suites
  • Springfield Properties – After Sales

Best regeneration initiative

  • St Modwen Developments – Glan Llyn, Newport (Winner)
  • Barratt London – High Street Quarter, Hounslow
  • Dorchester Living – Heyford Park, Oxfordshire (Commended)
  • Notting Hill Genesis – Royal Albert Wharf, London
  • Strawberry Star – Lu2on, Luton
  • Taylor Wimpey – Somerdale, Bristol
  • Whitehill & Bordon Regeneration Company – Prince Philip Park, Hampshire

Best refurbishment project

  • Barratt London – Hayes Village, London (Winner)
  • Beau Property – Nevill Row, Royal Tunbridge Wells
  • Spitfire Homes – Beaufort, Edgbaston (Commended)
  • Springfield Properties – Linkwood Steadings, Elgin
  • Taylor Wimpey – The Manor House at Leybourne Chase, West Malling
  • Weston Homes – Gun Hill Park, Aldershot (Commended)

Best community initiative

  • The Hill Group – SoloHaus: An innovative approach to tackling homelessness (Winner)
  • Countryside Partnerships and Hyde – Rochester Riverside
  • Springfield Properties – Springfield Villages
  • Sunningdale House Developments – Kent Head Teacher Katherine Baker Memorial
  • Vistry Partnerships – Heath Farm Skills Academy

Best marketing initiative

  • AF Oliver – Fairview New Homes – Remain a Londoner (Winner)
  • Catalyst – The Auria, Notting Hill
  • Hayfield - #MyHayfieldHome social media campaign (Commended)
  • McCarthy Stone – Inspiring interiors
  • Redrow - A better way to live drone video (Commended)
  • Springfield Properties – Choices
  • Taylor Wimpey – Brand video campaign

Best staff development award

  • Thakeham – An unwavering commitment to staff development (Winner)
  • Hayfield – Wellbeing Programme
  • Taylor Wimpey – Equality, Diversity and Inclusion initiatives
  • Vistry Group – Our People Making Vistry

Best retirement scheme

  • Beechcroft Developments – Orford Place, Ham Common (Winner)
  • McCarthy Stone – Campbell House, Weybridge (Commended)
  • Vistry Partnerships – Watergate Court, Gateshead

Best design for three storeys or fewer

  • Stewart Milne Homes – Dunnottar Park, Stonehaven (Winner)
  • Esquire Developments – Woodlands, Rochester
  • Miller Homes – Lambton Park, Chester-le-Street
  • Places for People – Chapelton, Aberdeenshire
  • Plumstead Garages – Old Tramyard, Plumstead
  • Stolon Studio for Crane Investments – Penrose Mews, London
  • Taylor Wimpey – Seaview Court at Shorncliffe Heights, Folkestone (Commended)
  • The Hill Group – The Villas at Knights Park, Eddington (Commended)
  • Trinity Square Developments – Banbridge Point, South Croydon

Best design for four storeys or more

  • St Modwen Homes – The Dice, Uxbridge (Winner)
  • Barratt London – Upton Gardens, London (Commended)
  • Muse Developments & Poplar HARCA – Stroudley Walk, Bow
  • St George – Cashmere Wharf at London Dock (Commended)
  • Sunningdale House Developments – Sandgate Pavilions, Kent
  • Westminster Builds and Linkcity – Carrick Yard, Lisson Grove

Best sustainability initiative

  • The Hill Group – The Villas at Knights Park, Eddington (Winner)
  • Aequus Group – St Joseph’s Court, Bath
  • Autograph Homes – Viewpoint@Totterdown, Bristol (Commended)
  • Barratt Homes – Zed House
  • Berkeley Group – Taking climate action
  • Vistry Group – Europa Way Triangle, Leamington

The Housebuilder Star Award

  • Vistry Group – Charlotte Olver (Winner)
  • Castle Green Homes – Gwyn Jones
  • Springfield Properties – HR and Wellbeing
  • William Davis Homes – The Apprenticeship Team (Commended)

Subcontractor/Services provider of the Year

  • Eco2Solar (Winner)
  • Cura Homecare
  • Edward Thomas Interiors
  • JLES Group
  • McAuliffe Group (Commended)
  • RS Bonds Surety (Commended)

Product of the Year

  • Knauf Insulation - KinetiK® (Winner)
  • Aico - Ei1000G SmartLINK Gateway
  • Geberit - iCon Rimfree WC
  • ITW Construction Products Offsite - Gang-Nail Truss Frame
  • Keyfix - Non-combustible Cavity Tray System
  • Keylite Roof Window - Integrated Expanding Thermal Collar
  • Lumi-Plugin - Lumi-Plugin Downlight & Plugins (LP110)
  • Marley - Marley Roof System & Roof Defence
  • Plastic Surgeon Fine Finishers - Restoration & repair services
  • VELUX - The VELUX Solar Integrator

Small housebuilder of the year

  • Castle Green Homes (Winner)
  • Autograph Homes
  • Beechcroft Developments
  • Dorchester Living
  • Hayfield
  • Spitfire Homes

Medium housebuilder of the year

  • St Modwen (Winner)
  • The Hill Group (Winner)
  • Stewart Milne Homes
  • Springfield Properties
  • Thakeham Homes

Large housebuilder of the year

  • Barratt Developments (Winner)
  • Taylor Wimpey
  • Vistry Group

Housebuilder Awards 2022 Judges

David Birkbeck, CEO - Design for Homes

Ian Bott, Associate Director - PRP

David Bryant, Chairman - HBF Small Developers Group 

Laura Jenkinson, Director Planning Development and Regeneration - Avison Young

Grainne Gilmore, Head of Research - Zoopla

Jenny Herdman, Director - Home Building Skills Partnership 

Richard Jones, Head of Residential - Arcadis

Iain Painting, Partner - Barton Willmore

Keira Proctor, MD - A Proctor Group

Ben Roskrow, Publishing Director - Housebuilder Media

John Slaughter, Director of External Affairs - HBF

Kay Francis, Head of Marketing and Communications - NHBC

Ian Heptonstall, Director - Action Sustainability

Alex Reid, Director - SEC Newgate