Housebuilder Awards 2019

24 October, 2019

Housebuilder Awards 2019


Housebuilder Awards 2019 winners revealed

Barratt was crowned Large housebuilder of the year at this year’s Housebuilder Awards, in which Cavanna Homes won the Medium housebuilder category and Hayfield took the Small housebuilder of the year gong.

The housebuilders received their awards from host Dara Ó Briain at a glittering ceremony at The InterContinental Hotel – The O2 in London in front of more than 600 guests.

Also on the night Bovis Homes performance director Roger Morton was named the first ever Housebuilder Star – a new award for those who go beyond the norm in achieving success or supporting colleagues during the year.

 Barratt won the Best community initiative award for its thoughtful and thorough Bingham Street naming for Armistice event where it named the new streets of its Romans’ Quarter scheme after local soldiers who sacrificed their lives in World War One. The firm also had two finalists in the Regeneration category and one in the Design – four storeys or more category.

Medium housebuilder winner Cavanna was highly commended in the Best design – three storeys or fewer category for Primrose Hill set on a hilltop affording scenic views of Torquay and Torbay. And it was a finalist in the same category for Yarners Mill in Dartington as well as a finalist in the Training category for its Apprenticeship programme.

Hayfield took the Small housebuilder award, winning the all-important Best customer satisfaction initiative award and being a finalist in the Best design – three storeys or fewer category for The Hallow at Hayfield Meadow in Worcestershire. CALA Evans won Best design – four storeys or more for The Crescent at Donaldson’s in Edinburgh.

Baker Estates was highly commended in the Small housebuilder of the year category and was winner of the Best design – three storeys or fewer category for Great Court Farm in Totnes.

Other winners on the night included Berkeley which took Sustainable housebuilder of the year; Telford Homes with Poplar HARCA won Best regeneration initiative; Charles Church took the Best refurbishment award; William Davis Homes had the Best marketing initiative. The Best training or recruitment award went to Lindum Group and rg+p and Keystone scooped the Best retirement scheme trophy. Clarkson Evans is the Best subcontractor/services provider and Product of the Year belongs to ARC Building Solutions.

Housebuilder Awards 2019 FINALISTS & WINNERS

Best Customer Satisfaction Initiative

  • Hayfield - Customer Satisfaction Initiative (Winner)
  • Bovis Homes - Customer First
  • Freeman Homes - The Customer Journey Process
  • Legal & General Homes - Buckler's Park
  • Millwood Designer Homes - The Customer First Initiative
  • Taylor Wimpey - TouchPoint

Best Regeneration Initiative

  • Telford Homes (in Partnership with Poplar HARCA) - Bow Garden Square (Winner)
  • Anwyl Construction - Llys Raddington Extra Care (Commended)
  • Barratt David Wilson Homes - Garnett Wharfe, Otley
  • Barratt London - Upton Gardens
  • Hill and Camden Council - Agar Grove Camden
  • St George - Fulham Reach
  • St. Modwen Homes - Egstow Park
  • Taylor Wimpey - Pennington Wharf

Best Refurbishment Project

  • Charles Church Lancashire - Stone Cross Mansion (Winner)
  • Mactaggart and Mickel - Carrongrove House
  • River Oaks Homes - The Stables (Commended)
  • Shropshire Homes - St George's Mansions
  • Spitfire Bespoke Homes - Haseley Manor
  • Thomas Homes - 16-40 London Road (Commended)
  • Urban Splash X Places for People - Park Hill

Best Community Initiative

  • Barratt Homes North Midlands Division - Bingham Street naming for Armistace (Winner)
  • Bellway Kent - Peninsula Bowls Club Pavilion
  • Crest Nicholson - Tadpole Garden Village
  • Legal & General Homes - Buckler's Park
  • Lightbox Group - Lightbox Charter
  • Mactaggart and Mickel - Who Cares? Scotland partnership
  • McCarthy & Stone - Intergenerational Living Project (Commended)

Best Marketing Initiative

  • William Davis Homes - The Best Address (Winner)
  • Bellway London - Help to Buy Homebuyers Exhibition
  • Hill and Peabody - Fish Island Village (Commended)
  • Miller Homes - Online reservations
  • St. Modwen Homes - As individual as you are
  • Taylor Wimpey - Proud

Best Training or Recruitment Initiative

  • Lindum Group - Apprenticeships - a new way (Winner)
  • Cavanna Homes - Apprentices
  • Croudace Homes - Group Leadership Programme
  • Foreman Homes - Best training initiative
  • Hill - Hill's Management Trainee Programme (Commended)
  • Redrow Homes - Housebuilding Degree
  • Stewart Milne Group - Fast Track Programme

Best Retirement Scheme

  • rg+p and Keystone - Carrington Gardens, Lincolnshire (Winner)
  • Bromford - Retirement Living by Bromford (Commended)
  • Galliford Try Partnerships - Wixams independent living retirement village
  • McCarthy & Stone - Augustus House, Virginia Water

Best Design for Three Storeys or Fewer

  • Baker Estates - Great Court Farm, Totnes (Winner)
  • Cavanna Homes - Primrose Hill, Torquay (Commended)
  • Cavanna Homes - Yarners Mill, Dartington
  • Conroy Brook (Developments) - Stocksmead, Stocksmoor
  • Crest Nicholson - Upper Longcross
  • Edenstone Homes - Sealey Wood, Horsley
  • Hayfield - The Hallow
  • Hill - The Avenue at Athena (Commended)
  • Millwood Designer Homes - Polo Field
  • Spitfire Bespoke Homes - Regents Green

Best Design for Four Storeys or More

  • CALA Evans Restorations - The Crescent at Donaldson's (Winner)
  • Barratt London - Landmark Place
  • Galliard Homes - Baltimore Tower
  • Places for People - 55 Degrees North, Edinburgh
  • St. Modwens Homes - The York at St. Andrew's Park
  • Taylor Wimpey - Chobham Manor (Commended)

Sustainable Housebuilder of the Year

  • Berkeley Group (Winner)
  • Taylor Wimpey

Subcontractor / Services Provider of the Year

  • Clarkson Evans - The Customer is King (Winner)
  • DAC Beachcroft - DAC B Services Provider of the Year
  • Eco2Solar - Sustainability and Efficiency for Housebuilders
  • JLES Group - Subcontractor of the year
  • Plastic Surgeon - Delivering results with surface repair

The Housebuilder Star Award

  • Bovis Homes - Roger Morton (Winner)
  • Miller Homes - The Miller Malawi Team
  • St. Modwen Homes - Paul Clarke

Product of the Year

  • ARC Building Solutions - ARC Eaves Insulator (Winner)
  • AEG - AEG ComfortLift Dishwasher
  • ARC Building Solutions - ARC TCB Intumescent
  • JLES - Post Build Adoption
  • Manthorpe Building Products - Telescopic Underfloor Vent (Commended)
  • Stormking Plastics - GRP CopeKing
  • Symphony Group - Linear Living
  • Tobermore - Secura Grand
  • Velux Company - Velux Active

Small Housebuilder of the Year

  • Hayfield (Winner)
  • Baker Estates (Commended)
  • Lindum

Medium Housebuilder of the Year

  • Cavanna Homes (Winner)
  • St Modwen Homes
  • Telford Homes
  • William Davis Homes

Large Housebuilder of the Year

  • Barratt (Winner)
  • Berkeley
  • Bovis
  • CALA
  • Hill
  • McCarthy & Stone
  • Taylor Wimpey

Housebuilder Awards 2019 Judges

Ben Roskrow, Publishing Director - Housebuilder Media

David Birkbeck, CEO - Design for Homes

Jenny Herdman, Director - Home Building Skills Partnership 

Mark Gibney, Head of London Planning - Avison Young

Richard Jones, Head of Residential - Arcadis

Sarah Quinton, Head of Marketing Communications - NHBC

David Bryant, Chairman - HBF Small Developers Group 

Grainne Gilmore, Partner Head of Residential Research - Knight Frank

Iain Painting, Partner - Barton Willmore

Nick Walley, MD - NW & JW Consultancy

Sarah White, Residential Market Manager - British Gypsum

Ian Bott, Associate Director - PRP

John Slaughter, Director of External Affairs - HBF

John Tebbit, MD - Robust Details 

Keira Proctor, MD - A Proctor Group


InterContinental London - The O2
1 Waterview Drive
Greenwich Peninsula
SE10 0TW